Commercial Drivers License Info Iowa

Federal regulations require all CDL holders and applicants to certify how they operate their commercial motor vehicle whenever they renew, upgrade, or obtain a CDL for the first time. A CDL holder must certify to one of four categories that apply to the type of driving they do. Determine which category applies to you.

CDL holders that certify to the “nonexcepted interstate” category must provide a copy of their Medical Examiner’s Certificate to the Iowa Department of Transportation.

Beginning May 21, 2014, a commercial driver who is renewing or obtaining a new Medical Examiner’s Certificate must be examined by a medical professional listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. Medical certificates issued on or after this date must be completed by a certified medical examiner on the national registry and include the examiner’s national registry number.

Iowa Commercial Drivers License – Dec 2014

Iowa CDL Manual

Iowa CDL Manual

This Commercial Drivers License information is from the official state government page for Iowa. We make every effort to provide the best and most accurate information possible. It is your responsibility to check that you have the most recent Iowa Commercial Drivers License information.

Need Commercial Drivers License information for another state? Try the links below.

Last modified December 3, 2015 by Tom Archer